Skip to content

UA Apollo first session and mixing through sE Eggs

November 29, 2014

I recently used my Universal Audio Apollo for its first recording session. I recorded an acoustic cover of “Everlong” by the Foo Fighters for my work colleague, as his anniversary was coming up. I initially thought about using work’s FireStudio Project for the sake of ease (as my UA Apollo is now screwed into a 14U rack), but decided I wanted to hear how the converters performed and how the Apollo performed overall. I also decided to use quite a high sample rate and bit depth to pick up all the little nuances of the delicate performance, so I recorded at 96kHz at 24bit (I usually only record at 44.1kHz at 24bit).

I tracked through my Warm Audio WA12s on acoustic and used the built in pres in the Apollo for vocals. Mics on the acoustic were a Cascade Fathead II and a KSM32 both stacked on top of each other facing where the neck joins the body. Tone button was pushed in on the channel which the Fathead II was plugged into, and KSM32 was left flat. Vocals were tracked using the KSM32.

Overall, I’m really impressed with how the Apollo captured the audio and performed in this session. It’s hard to tell how good the converters compare to my previous FireStudio Projects, as I recorded at such a high bit rate and sample rate, so until I record at my usual 44.1kHz and 24bit, I won’t be able to comment. Recording at such a high quality meant I was able to capture a more dynamic performance; the transient detail of the acoustic was also excellently captured despite going through a relatively dark coloured pre and every nuance of both instruments were captured well.

This was also the first mix I did through my new sE Eggs. These are also excellent! I’m very impressed with these monitors and how well they translate onto other monitor systems… no, seriously. Every monitor company will say this classic line “if your mixes sound good on these, they’ll sound good on anything”, but they seldom do. Mixing on my sE Eggs, bearing in mind it’s my first mix on them and I’m getting used to them, I’ve not had to make any revisions. These truly are honest monitors. As Andy Munro has said in an interview, it’s painful listening to MP3s through these because they make everything sound so distorted… because they are.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

