Skip to content

The KSM32 has landed!

January 12, 2012

I recently bought a KSM32 as I decided that instead of buying something that was “in my price range”, it wouldn’t have been good enough for what I wanted, and effectively I would’ve been wasting money. I’ve not tested it out yet, but I’ll try and book a session soon and write another blog with sound samples. From my first impressions, the mic seems solid. It’s got a nice weight to it and I was a bit skeptical about the mic clip which is included from seeing pictures, however, it’s made of metal and seems pretty solid too.

The charcoal grey version doesn’t come with a flight case or a shockmount, but instead a carrying pouch with a foam insert and also the mic clip, also of good quality. I’m looking to buy a cheap shockmount to house the microphone as I didn’t want to pay an extra £60 for the sake of a shockmount and fancy case for the same mic.

I’m looking to buy another one of these when my next grant installment comes through and use these as my main overhead mics. You might be thinking “but if you do that, they won’t sound the same!” I find that with a company like Shure, their quality control is going to be fairly consistent. I used to have two AKG C1000s’s, one of them was Polish, the other Austrian, both sounded exactly the same, and they’re cheap mics. My Sontronics STC-1s on the other hand, may as well be two completely seperate mics (buy a matched pair if you’re going to buy those).

So far, so good. I’m pretty impressed with the build quality of the mic and it just seems really robust. Watch this space for some sound samples on various instruments soon!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

