Skip to content

Is this a good substitute?

December 23, 2011

I’ve recently been stressing myself out looking for a good, yet still relatively cheap, condenser to primarily use on drum overheads as my Sontronics STC-1s just don’t pick up the fatness of the kit I’d like being small diaphragm condensers. After reading forums about different mics, I was just getting my hopes shot down from people slating the mics I was looking at.

The Shure KSM27 though has received good reviews, and as much as I’d like to get a pair of KSM32s, they’re just way out of my budget. The frequency chart is fairly similar to that of the KSM32, although it has more of a presence boost around the 5-6kHz range and a wider bell past about 10kHz compared to the KSM32 which is relatively flat past 10kHz with a narrower bell.

Once I get the money, I’m probably going to buy a couple of these to use for overheads amongst other things.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

