Skip to content

DIY Subkick – The Sound!

November 11, 2011

Over these past couple of days, I’ve been using my DIY subkick that I made on the drums for our sessions. It sounds absolutely amazing with the close mic, and adds some real meat to the drum sound! In my last blog post, you’ll see how I was thinking about how I was going to mount it, in the end we just taped it down to the box it came in, and surprisingly it held out for the whole session.

Here’s a sound example of the 421 on its own, then the subkick on its own and then the two blended in together. Listen with headphones or big speakers (ideally something with a sub woofer or something that can reproduce the low end well). I’ve not mixed these drums in any way besides increasing the volume of the subkick to make it really obvious.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

