Skip to content

The Ranch/The Saloon

September 27, 2011

Today I went up to visit Neil at The Ranch Production House. I had some initial trouble trying to find out what bus route I was supposed to take, but after asking about four bus drivers, I was on my way. The place is converted horse stables which are owned by an old woman and has two seperate studios. Studio A is known as “The Ranch” whereas Studio B is known as “The Saloon”. Another band were tracking in The Saloon when I turned up, so Neil showed me the live room and control room of The Ranch. I was astounded by the mass of guitar amps and outboard gear they had.

I brought along a CD of previous work which I’d done and had it played out on some KRK VXT8s and met another engineer who worked there called Geoff. It made me realise how flat my mixes were and they suffered some punch, however they seemed to like what I’d done. After being spoken to about what was expected from an intern (which in all honesty isn’t ball-breaking stuff), I got the bus back home.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

