Skip to content

Focusrite Liquid Mix – Knowing The Emulations

June 29, 2011

I’ve recently started using my Liquid Mix again after making the effort to find out the names of the emulations. I’ve found a new fondness for it after using the Teletronix LA-2A emulation (named “Leveller/US Classic Tube 3”) on vocals on a track I’ve recorded recently. I knew it was a great bit of gear anyway, but now that I know the names of the emulations, I can make a better choice of what compressor or EQ I should use on a certain instrument instead of choosing one at random and seeing if it works or not.

I just love that I have all of these classic and rare EQs and compressors at my disposal (albeit they’re digital) and know that they will never wear out or have to be maintained and always sound their best. I painstakingly created snapshots for all the EQs and compressors for ease of reference which has definitely sped up my workflow when mixing.

Click on the picture below to see the list of all the Liquid Mix emulations with their real names. And if you’ve got a Liquid Mix, you can do what I did and create snapshots for them.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

