Skip to content

XY Mic Configuration

June 25, 2011

I recently purchased a stereo mic bar so that I could record instruments in XY more easily if I ever needed to (instead of using two mic stands I only have to use one). The main reason for me buying this was to use for drum overheads as I find that my drum recordings suffer when recording in a spaced pair configuration, the best luck I’ve had was using the mid-side technique.

I decided to try out the XY technique on an acoustic guitar as that was the first thing which was readily available to me. I set the mics up pointing towards the 15th and 16th fret on my Dad’s Takamine EG523 SC, the tracks were recorded using two Sontronics STC-1s using XLRs with Neutrik connectors and put into my Firestudio Project.

Listen to the clips below with no mixing besides panning the two tracks hard left and right (The first track is summed to mono). I like that this technique gives you a stereo image with minimal phase issues and the sound is quite focused, but for acoustic guitars I think I’ll stick to using spaced pair. I’d like to try this out on overheads though and maybe with a room mic just to add some more space to the sound.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

